Posted by: sistermom1 | June 4, 2015

10 Years and Still Moving Forward…

For the first time since I was diagnosed with MS, I left a doctor’s office with a hopeful attitude.  This is a functional medicine doctor (yes, he has a M.D.!) who has recently joined my healthcare team.  His approach looks beyond my diagnosis of MS, and examines what else is going on in my body.  For the last 3 months I have had everything analyzed – my poop, saliva, blood and urine.  All of the testing has revealed a lot about what’s going on in my body in addition to the MS.  I have a major yeast problem and my digestive system is really affecting how my internal systems interact.  I have to clean it out, which means an entirely new eating program. I did go gluten-free 2 months ago in an effort to clear out my digestive tract, but I have to go further….which to be honest is freaking me out.  No fruit of any kind except berries — along with no bread, pasta, rice, beans, or sugar.  Also lots of vitamins, and essential oils.  This is because yeast loves these things and thrives and grows on them.  Since our goal is to kill the yeast, which negatively affects the rest of my body, that is what I can’t consume.  So what’s left to eat?  I can have many vegetables, and many nuts (except peanuts and cashews), and lots of water.

So why am I encouraged?  Because at the end of our appointment, the doctor looked at me and said, “We are going to get you out of that wheelchair.  Do this for 6 months and we will at least get you on a walker!”  This was the first time in the last 10 years that a medical professional has ever painted such a positive and hopeful picture for me.

I am still learning what I can eat, and will keep you posted as we go along — any advice is much appreciated!!!!!

So here’s to a new leg of the detour….

Responses

  1. WOW< WOW AND WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HOW FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!
    My advice? Tap.
    And know that love pouring to you from all who are lucky enough to know you, will aid in your healing.
    This is thrilling news, Linda. AND, YOU are a very highly intentioned person who is creating it all.
    Much love,
    Bev

  2. If anyone can do this, you can – go Linda!!

  3. So proud of you Linda…. I’m in awe of your determination and spirit to overcome and thrive….You’re a card-carryin’ member of the I CAN DO ANYTHING club!!!! Love you!!!

  4. i’m so glad to have stumbled on your blog just now. i read “the wahls protocol,” in which she talks about functional medicine. there is a functional doc in this area whom i have wanted to see. i am encouraged by your experience!

    • Thank you for your support! This is a challenging part of the journey, and it’s great to hear from co-travellers!
      Sending you love and light!


Leave a Reply

Categories

