Posted by: sistermom1 | June 5, 2012

Even more learning

Every now and then along this journey I experience a real moment of clarity. A realization reveals itself, and I am reminded about what this journey through marriage, motherhood, and especially MS is about for me.  I have been having more of these lately, including:

My ego has played a huge role in my daily life, and I must do a better job of managing it.

My children are great individuals.  We have done a great job raising them.  I need to let them be themselves and I need to be ok with who they are.  They are not a direct reflection of me, but of themselves.

I am quite capable, and (not “but”) I do not have to do everything by myself.  I must work on being ok with needing/asking for help.

Control is a big issue for me.  I have taken great pride in being in control of my life and all of the things that happen to me and my family.  Living with MS has shown me that all I am in control of is how to deal with whatever does happen to me and my family at any given time.

Then I caught up on some reading, and was deeply inspired and consoled by what I read.  Here are a few ideas:

– No amount of thinking can stop thinking.

– For the raindrop, joy is entering the river.

– We must give up what no longer works.

–  If not now, when?

These have really pushed me to think about the way I am living my life and how I am dealing with MS.  My processing continues, and I will keep you posted.  For now, I will say that several great works have crossed my path during this journey, and as I read them I will share them with you.  Some of the titles I have mentioned before in this blog.  Here is the first installment:

The Book of Awakening:  Having the Life You Want by Being Present in the Life You Have by Mark Nepo

Wishes Fulfilled: Mastering the Art of Manifesting by Wayne Dyer

Quantum Wellness: A Practical Guide to Health and Happiness by Kathy Freston

Spiritual Solutions: Answers to Life’s Greatest Challenges by Deepak Chopra

Daisaku Ikeda’s 2012 Peace Proposal

Loving What Is by Byron Katie

These titles have been very helpful to me over the past few years.  They have exposed me to many different ways to think about my life and my health, and to claim my success in overcoming MS — even when my immediate environment does not yet reflect my success…  Much more later….

Leave a Reply

Categories

