Posted by: sistermom1 | December 29, 2011

2011 – An Overview

As a new year approaches, I have been thinking about what a wonderful  year this has been for me and my family. Despite my illness (or maybe because of it?) this has been a time of reflection and realizations – a true revelation for me has surfaced around most corners that I have encountered.  I never realized what an adventure my daily life could be — even without leaving my home or my wheelchair.  So much has happened this year, including reading four books that made a huge difference in my life: The Book of Awakening: Having the Life You Want by Being Present to the Life You Have – Mark Nepo, Broken Open: How Difficulties Help You Grow – Elizabeth Lesser, Quantum Wellness – Kathy Freston, and The MS Recovery Diet – Ann Sawyer and Judith Bachrach.  I wrote about two of these books in previous entries, and will continue to share things that have helped me develop.  In the interim, here are some of the things that shaped my 2011:

I continued my monthly infusion of Tysabri.  To be honest I am not sure if it is working — much of how MS meds effectiveness has been assessed is based on whether you get worse rather than any solid improvement.  A real bummer when you think about it, but a good thing is that I don’t seem to be getting worse…..

I had more physical therapy, which is great.  Thanks to those who have been so helpful to me this year.  I am fortunate to have met each of you.  Your patience and expertise are greatly appreciated – especially as I plan ahead for 2012.

I participated in a mobility clinic.  I never expected that a wheelchair would be an option for me, but after everything that has happened this year, I have determined to let go of some of my expectations of myself (I will walk again by a specific date as an example) and to do what needs to be done to move forward in my life.

Our children continue to move forward along their respective pathway.  Partnering with my husband to parent both of  our kids from a wheelchair has challenged me in many ways.  (More on that later!)  Our son started his sophomore year in high school, and our daughter started 7th grade.  I am sure that many of you can relate to the challenges of parenting children at these ages.  It is the same for us, just add a wheelchair and a LOT of doctor appointments (for me!)

I was introduced to working with many alternative practices including energy adjustment, medical mediums, and acupuncture, all of which was positive and helpful guidance along my journey.

We made additional changes in our home to make it more accessible to me.  Made the office more comfortable and attractive with new carpet and blinds.  Installed a new bathroom with a roll-in shower, added a new hospital bed, and purchased a special seat that allows me to get in our minivan much more easily.  (I know – Where did the money to do all of this come from?  I still am working on figuring that out, and continue to thank the universe for enabling us to accomplish these things.)

Attended MS couples workshop with my husband.  This would never be his idea on his own, but we did it and both of us had an amazing time.  Co-sponsored by the MS Society and MS Can Do, it was a wonderful opportunity for us to stop and think about how we were doing as individuals and as a couple.  The sessions were powerful, the food was delicious, and the hotel was perfect.  As a result, several participants attended the MS Women on the Move luncheon, and I was included in two video shoots in support of the MS Can Do organization (great fun!)

In an earlier entry I shared that I had a Baclofen pump implanted to help me manage my spasticity.  It’s been 4 months and it is going well — we are still working to get the dosage right, but I have already experienced less spasticity in my legs, which has been tremendous.  (Check info about this out on www.spasticity.com)

I got approved for and began using Metro Access.  I also wrote about this previously.  Using it continues to be a positive and empowering experience for me and my family.  I was able to meet a friend at the mall to do some Christmas shopping (most of my other shopping was done via the internet, which was great).

At Thanskgiving I was happy to be reunited with a family member who had chosen to live completely separate from my family of origin.  This had been going on since 2007, and I since that time I had prayed regularly to re-open communication with that person.  Sometimes the answer to our prayers is “Not yet”.  Perhaps I am learning patience through this experience….

I was able to let go of my traditional list of must-dos for the holidays.  Not only that, but I really enjoyed it and did not regret doing things in a new way that respected my current health status and my abilities.  This was huge for me, and as a result I am sitting here with a glass of wine enjoying writing while my family is enjoying what they like without my oversight (“nagging”)  about the condition of the house.

It has been a wonderful year, full of blessings and opportunities to learn and grow.  So much more happened — including encountering new blogs, digging deeper with my spouse, exercising more regularly, and connecting more sincerely with other family members.  I look forward to 2012, and sharing this blog with those of you who read it regularly.    Thank you all so very much, and I wish all of you a Happy New Year!

Responses

  1. Praise God for your adaptations and though you do recognize a higher being and give aknowledgement to the universe; I believe that it all works togehter for those who love the Lord. You are blessed my dear and though many of us don’t recognize the blessings of life that you have discovered, I give thanks to have known you and follow your adaption to challenges before you, as it makes me more cogzinant and how my chanllenges may not be a great as I seem to think as one time or another. Stay Blessed and focused. Happy New Year and may 2012 continue to be good to both you and your family. Sisterly, much love, Vesta


Leave a Reply

Categories

