Posted by: sistermom1 | October 22, 2011

Shopping Trip

Several months ago we went shopping as a family.  We had a lot to accomplish, and everyone was in good spirits as we got started.  Because of my health challenges, I have become a bit of an expert on where the public bathrooms are located in certain stores and how to get to them.  I have often found them to be more challenging to reach than I would ever have expected — but that’s a story for another time.

Well, I left the family to find the bathroom, which is always a bit of a challenge in a wheelchair.  When I returned I found my daughter was ready to pay for some items she liked.  I reached down for my wallet and discovered that my purse was gone.  Immediately I went into problem-solving mode, but I was shocked and scared.  I had no idea where my purse could be, and had images of  individuals going through it and using my credit card to purchase random items.  I began thinking about needing to replace my drivers license, call the credit card companies and the bank, and call the insurance companies.  I was freaking out, but struggled to keep calm.  I did not want to be an emotional example for my daughter, but I wasn’t sure what to do.

After an unsuccessful return trip to the bathroom, I took a deep breath and told my kids that we needed to get to the customer service desk cause I had lost my purse.  My husband is the most wonderful person to go through something like this with me.  He is calm, thoughtful and still, and does not ever go off in any way.  To be honest, this is one of the reasons he is such a good partner for me. 

While I was freaking out mentally going through the process of calling all of my card companies and explaining how and why I had lost my purse, (could I just blame that damned disorganized handicapped bathroom?!), my husband calmy got us moving to the customer service desk.  He was confident that my purse would be there.  I was on the edge of tears, but he kept moving us towards the desk.

When we got there, I was shocked and relieved to see my bright, yellow purse on the customer service desk.  I was overcome by emotions.  Someone had actually found it and turned it in — with all the cash and all of the cards intact.  The random strangers I envisioned ransacking my purse had not done that at all.  What a challenge to the way I had been viewing the world!  

As we left the mall, I wiped my eyes, and said a small prayer of gratitude.  I was prepared to feel victimized, that had not happened.  Trust in human nature had won out and we were all headed home — safe and sound.

Leave a Reply

Categories

