Posted by: sistermom1 | July 18, 2010

The gift of a family vacation

We just returned from the best trip I have taken in a very long time.

We went on a cruise with my mother, one of my brothers and one of my best friends. It was an absolutely perfect time. That’s something I have not said in quite some time. This was something that I really wanted to do, but was unsure how to do it in a wheelchair. I know that many people travel with a wheelchair, but just because many people do something doesn’t mean that doing it would be easy for me. Turns out that I was OK — we all were good at it, and I on the trip I learned so much about myself and my family.

Here is some of what I learned on this magical, wonderful family-filled trip:

My brother is a really good, loving man

We are truly a blessed family

Our son is a pretty wonderful, funny, easy-going kid

My daughter is an extremely determined young woman (just watch her climb a rock wall in the middle  of the Atlantic Ocean!)

My husband is a VERY patient, loving man who is happy to do what needs to be done to make things easier for me.

We do have many stresses in our daily life and the more I limit the stress I am under at any moment,  the better I feel

I need to do more for myself without the guilt that usually accompanies my doing it.

Kelly Ripa (of “Regis and Kelly”) has been quoted as saying that when you travel with family it is not called a “vacation” but a “trip”.  Although I understand what she means, I have to disagree.  Ths trip was one of the best vacations I have ever been on, and my entire family agrees with me.  In fact, my kids have asked when we can go again!

I will write more from this detour — especially about my learning to navigate on vacation with all of my equipment (Thank goodness for a great travel agent – www.cgta.com).

Leave a Reply

Categories

