Posted by: sistermom1 | February 25, 2010

Saying goodbye to my shoes

One of the most difficult things about dealing with my current health challenges has been having to change the way I move through the world.  I have already shared that before my diagnosis of MS, I was a hard-driving, corporate type who wore a lot of suits and high-heeled pumps.  I travelled a lot for my work and spent much time speaking in front of audiences around the country.  That is no longer my daily reality.  I am getting to a place where I can consider travelling, but I am not quite there yet.

I got the courage to clean out my closet today, and my husband helped.  At last count I had over 40 pairs of shoes – including several 4-inch stilletos, flat loafers, bejeweled sandals, all shoes that I purchased because I loved them at the time.  I simply can’t wear them anymore.  Heels are not the comfortable or easy option they once were (and I did love them!)

Seeing all of my cute shoes in a pile to give away left me nauseous and very sad.  BD (before-diagnosis), much of my persona was built around the image I presented upon entering a room.  There was always substance behind the image, but I really loved dramatic, flowing coats and sweaters worn over body-conscious pencil skirts (I do still have pretty legs!) and the stilleto pumps really worked for me.

I now spend most of my time in a wheelchair.  I need shorter cropped jackets that I won’t sit on when I am in the chair, and clothes (mostly pants) that I can get out of quickly to be able to get to the bathroom before my bladder gives away.  Lucky those jackets are in these days, so it will be a bit easier for me to shop when I do get to Nordstrom’s! (They do have the best bathroom in the Mall – and a great Cafe!)

I did get inspired when I received this month’s O Magazine.  It seems that Oprah is de-cluttering too!   Now, my castoffs are nothing like hers, but the fact that we are even a little in synch is a bit comforting to me.  If you have read any of my previous entries, you know how much I admire Oprah Winfrey.  This month’s O Magazine has given me a lot to consider as I make it through this latest stage on my detour.

To the women who will receive these donations, I hope that you really enjoy these shoes and suits.  May they help you move forward personally and professionally as I think they helped me.  I certainly enjoyed wearing them – and please enjoy every step you take in those Laboutins!

Responses

  1. Linda – I’ve been following along and lover what you have been writing. You just reminded me today of how much I appreciated Nordstrom’s bathroom when my twins were babies….it was the absolutely the best place to breastfeed them! I so miss those days. Although I have not been through nearly the dramatic change in life that you have, it surprises me every day how quickly life passed with children under my roof and how much I miss them every day, the closeness of them, the beauty of them. I fill my days with many things, often pleasurable, but still long for the sweet, sweet closeness of little children.

  2. I still see you ” hitting the mark and taking care of business” doing those halcyon days and I see you now vibrant, inspiring and blessing others with your grace and courage. In other words, “hitting the mark and taking care of business.” Love you. Mom

    P.S. Thanks for sharing. Now I need to go and get those 20 y/o shoes out of my closet.

  3. LINDA, I AM IN PHONIX AND WISH I WAS IN VEGAS WITH YOU. I HAVE A VERY INTERESTING TOUR OF THE PLACE THAT I WISH I COULD GIVE YOU. YOU INSPIRE ME WITH HOW YOU DEAL WITH MS,LIFE,MOM AND WITH YOUR WRITING.YOU ARE AN ARTIST FOR SURE. THERE IS A BOOK CALL “DOES CLUTTER MAKE YOUR BUT BIG” IN THE FAMILYS CASE NO.YOU MUST WRITE A BOOK. WHAT EVER YOU WRITE IT WILL BE WONDERFUL.XOXOXOXO SONNY


Leave a Reply

Categories

