Posted by: sistermom1 | February 22, 2010

What Cabin Fever?

Everyone keeps asking me if because of the heavy snow I have gotten a bad case of Cabin Fever.  Are the kids getting on my nerves? With both kids having been out of school for the past 10 days, and us not being able to get around the neighborhood, are we hating life these days and looking forward to everyone going back to school?

Over the past ten days, our son has mastered the Halo video game along with most of his friends.  They have had a never-ending play date – they don’t even have to be in the same room anymore…  Our daughter now wants a XBox membership, so she can play with her brother and his friends.  She has already mastered her most recent guitar piece, and has started a new one on her own.  They both have worked on their Science Fair projects for school, and are almost ready to make their charts.  Every bit of homework has been done.  What a tremendous feeling of accomplishment that is for all of us.

For the past couple of years, I have been getting used to being in the house and not going too many places.  To be honest, it has been so nice to have company all day!  Our kids get along and genuinely like each other (she is 10 and he is 13), so that really helped make it more than tolerable.

Our daughter loves to cook – and she is a very good one.  Together, we have made cookies, two cakes, lasagna and other pasta dishes.  Being able to catch friends by phone and actually talk to them in a meaningful way has also been great. Having time to actually think about the things I am doing and what needs to be done is wonderful- it makes me think about how I don’t often take time to think about what needs to be done and what I am doing – life can move so fast – even being stuck in the house most of the day. 

So, the answer is “No – I have not had any Cabin Fever”. In fact, I was sad to see them head back to school.  I do miss them during the day and look forward to them coming home every evening.  I can’t wait to hear how their day was – who helped them during the day – who got all of the homework done – how recess was – everything.  All of the stuff that they used to tell me that I would only half-way listen to.  Maybe this was a lesson from the past 2 weeks – learning to slow down and pay attention – not only to my kids, but to my husband as well.  Now that the snow is thawing, leaving a well-watered lawn in its wake, and we can actually drive through the neighborhood, I promise myself that I will remember this lesson from the “Snowmageddon” of 2010….

Leave a Reply

Categories

