Posted by: sistermom1 | February 9, 2010

A Challenging Week

This week has been quite difficult. I am having more pain than I have experienced in quite some time.  I am less flexible, and am really having a harder time getting around than usual.  We have had a couple of  major snow storms, and it seems that any dampness in the air really makes my joints a bit more craggy.  

I have also had several doctor’s appointments this week – more than usual.  I have needed a lot more from my husband, and it (along with shovelling) has definitely been wearing on him.  A few times this week, when he brought my breakfast up, he left it on the table next to the bed in a way that left me feeling like he was feeding the family dog – a dog that he simply tolerated getting in the first place, but had gotten because the kids wanted it so badly.

I even had a mammogram today.  This is the first one I have had in three years, and I am feeling quite irresponsible about it (as well as smashed beyond anything I have remembered in the past…)  That and a bone density scan have  combined to make me feel more mature – there are two ways to take “mature”, and I am struggling to stay on the positive side….

How to move forward from here?  The kids are celebrating because they are out of school for the rest of the week with minimal homework.  (Makes me wonder exactly what we are paying for with private school – but what can I say?)  I just got a couple of movies from a good friend to have something special to watch over the next few snow days.  American Idol is on and as usual, I am hooked on the entire Hollywood Week scenario – I love Ellen DeGeneres, so this is a pretty good night for me.

The challenging week continues – has really only just begun.  Motherhood, marriage and MS during the Blizzard of 2010.   I will keep you posted on how it all turns out….

Leave a Reply

Categories

