Posted by: sistermom1 | November 29, 2009

Completing the 29-day giving challenge

I received Cami Walker’s book – 29 Gifts – and completed it this week.  I got an extra copy so I could give it to someone, and had the opportunity to do that on the last day of my first 29-day challenge.

I have completed the 29-day giving challenge,and have learned some very meaningful and surprising things along the way.  Waking up each day thinking about giving something to others has taken my focus away from my own strugles with MS.  Some of what has happened to me during the past month:

– I had a  major success – hosting a SGI meeting with 47 attendees in my home, including 5 guests!  This from a group that often brings together 5 people with very few guests, and my daughter even participated – a positive cause towards her future…

– The gift of my family is one that I don’t think of/appreciate often.  My only sister has distanced herself and her children from us – she has her own reasons for that, which I am really not meant to understand or approve.  This challenge has helped me understand and accept that with love.  My remaining siblings are close and we chose to spend the holiday together with my husband, children and mother at a local restaurant.  It was fabulous, the food was delicious, and we hope to do it again next year – maybe with my sister and her kids!

– My Letter to the Editor was published in this month’s O Magazine!  If you have read this blog before (thank you!), you know how much I LOVE, respect and appreciate Oprah.  I was able to attend the fundraiser she hosted in California for Barack Obama, and I was asked to Skype in to her book club meeting on Eckhart Tolle’s book  A New Earth, which was really exciting.  But I never expected my letter to O Magazine to be published – I wrote to express my thoughts and reaction to a wonderful article.  I was totally shocked when I casually encountered my letter when I received my copy in the mail.  It was truly an unexpected gift!

– There were so many other gifts, but the other night, I had the first dream I have had since 2007 of me being able to walk on my own.  My friend Marci has had this dream several times, but I had never had it – until I completed this challenge.  Not sure what it means, but I am launching another 29-day challenge this week!

Responses

  1. Congrats on the feature!

  2. Hi Linda – Has anyone sent you the link to the Canadian TV news program called W5? They featured a new procedure by an Italian doctor that looks very promising. You can see the video here: http://www.ctv.ca/servlet/ArticleNews/story/CTVNews/20091120/W5_liberation_091121/20091121?s_name=W5.
    There’s also a Facebook page on the procedure called “CCSVI in Multiple Sclerosis”.
    I’m a 53 year old Torontonian with SPMS and found this to be quite exciting. Have a look 🙂

    • I have never seen the link but would love to. Thannks so much for visiting my blog, and I hope you will return!
      Diva on a Detour

  3. congrats on your feature day on Blogs Her Color.

    stopping by to show some bloggy love.

    I may need to pick up this book to read, thanks!!

    parlinmom

  4. What an inspiring post. I will have to keep an eye out for this book, it sounds like as much as you’re giving to others.. there’s another level that speaks to what we give ourselves and the appreciation that’s often forgotten.

    Thank you for sharing. :]

    • Hi Nepenthe!
      Thanks for visiting my blog – I hope you come back again!
      Diva on a Detour

  5. Reading this made me want to try this for myself. Glad you had very great results. Good luck on your next 29 challenge.

    • Hey Kymberly,
      I hope you do try it – I have launched my second 29-day round of gift-giving, and it is going very well. Thanks for visiting my blog, and I hope you come back!

  6. Congrats on your feature on Blogs Her Color. Thanks you for working so hard to share with and educate the rest of us.

    • Hey Greedygirl1!
      Thanks for your comment, and for visiting my blog. I did not know that it was featured on blogshercolor, but I am so excited! Come back soon, and check out the 29 gifts website when you can…


Leave a Reply

Categories

