Posted by: sistermom1 | November 4, 2009

On Guilty Pleasures

OK I admit it – I never miss the Real Housewives of Atlanta.  They are so “ghetto fabulous” and so self-involved, and have no qualms about doing whatever they would like to do whenever they would like to do it….  Watching the Housewives – from all of the cities – is like passing by a huge, smoke-filled train wreck and having to look – I just cannot help myself.

I read something the other day that helps explain to me a little more about why I love the Housewives (especially Atlanta and New York).  It is fromSimple Abundance, a lovely daybook by Sarah Ban Breathnach that was published in 1995.  It is a great book that I have referenced in previous blog entries.  One of Sarah’s guilty pleasures was Edina and Patsy from the British sitcom Absolutely Fabulous.  About them and what she likes about them:

“They’re vain, vapid, vacuous, shallow, selfish. Dumb and dumber.  Hilarious.  They’re certainly not role models, but most assuredly they’re the stuff of our shadows.”  [“Shadows” is Carl Jung’s name for the darker self lurking within – the things that we attempt to bury in order to show an acceptable face to the world.]  She goes on to say:

“All these women are out of control. so watch out.  But we can’t afford to be there are people who need care and there are jobs waiting to be done.  But if we could shed every responsibility and inhibition for half a day, perhaps we’d resemble [NeeNee, Kim, Lisa, Sheree or Kandi].  And while that’s amusing, it’s not pretty.  Still, whenever I am stressed to the max, I’ll relax with a glass of wine and [The Real Housewives].  I always come back to real life chuckling, and in a strange way, renewed.  [The Housewives] go back into the dark, having basked in my undivided attention, and I contentedly return to writing, carpooling and helping to make dinner.”

Thank you Sarah, for putting this into better words than I was able to find on my own.  This really helped me put my finger on exactly why I love the Housewives!

Leave a Reply

Categories

