Posted by: sistermom1 | September 24, 2009

Why blogging?

This is a question I have asked myself many times over the past couple of years.  I just could not understand why so many people of all ages and nationalities were sharing their innermost feelings on the internet.  I really could not relate – I had myself and my personal support networks together, was never into keeping a diary (even as a child), and was a bit of a techno-phobe.   Then MS presented itself and changed my trajectory from the familiar to the complete unknown of  this detour. 

Over the past 4 years, many people have suggested that I try blogging as a way to capture my thoughts, concerns and experiences throughout this detour.  It wasn’t until connecting with Ann Loehr that I ever thought seriously about doing it.

Ann is, among many other things, a coach who helped me begin to unearth,  articulate and formalize a personal and professional vision in a way that has helped move me forward on this life journey.  She is great at what she does, and, like Oprah (see my earlier blog entries!) is a woman who is living “on purpose” – really fulfilling a mission.  Due to my physical health challenges, we have yet to complete our work together, but she got me moving in the right direction, and for that I am and always will be truly grateful.  You can reach her at anne@anneloehr.com if you would like to connect with Anne – I highly recommend her!

Because of Anne’s encouragment, I started this blogging thing, and it has been the most wonderful part of this detour that I happen to be taking.  I absolutely love doing it – it has given me license to express many of the things that are difficult for me to say – I wrote about this earlier – my inability to express things that are uncomfortable/difficult to share or that I think will be received negatively by others.  I can write everything here with no names/identifying details and can work it all out right here with all of you instead of in my head….

Having those conversations in my head of anticipated exchanges and my anticipated responses – Eckhart Tolle has written about this in his most recent book, A New Earth.  In it, he writes about how we often will anticipate the future by playing out conversations in our head instead of waiting for the event to actually happen.  This living in the future rather than experiencing the present as it is,  creates a real problem for us, as we miss experiencing the present moment and radically impact what the future moment will be, rather than letting it be as it will be. 

I absolutely love this book and highly recommend it.  More about this wonderful book at another time, as my daughter needs my computer to begin her homework this evening.  I will end tonight by sharing that I blog because I can, and because it makes this journey much more palatable….  for myself and those close to me!

Leave a Reply

Categories

